C-A-P-I-T-A-L Screenwriter Post-production Journal

Summary

I helped the editor make decisions about what to keep in the film and what to cut out. We made some last-minute changes but I was happy with the final product.

Evidence of Further Input

Collaborating with the editor on further audio.

Sri and I talked quite a bit about what to do with the film, mostly in person. Since we had issues with missing footage we had to alter the story and she consulted me as the script was written by me. I made decisions with her about how we wanted the final progression to end, and it was a valuable experience as the abstract and concrete aspects of film making came together.

Evaluation of Script

I was proud of the script, I thought it worked technically and flowed well. It is probably my favorite script I have written this year as it was a very original idea. There are some lines that make pretty much everyone laugh, and if/when executed correctly, it can actually be a feel-good underdog story. I could’ve improved aspects of the script such as the technical directions, or including body language/tone in dialogue.

How I Could Have Improved The Film

As a screenwriter, I could’ve improved the film by making the script shorter and easier to execute. There were multiple specific locations required, such as a stage for a spelling bee, and an office-type building for the closing scene. While both of these sets were attainable, it made the process somewhat more difficult. I could’ve written the script to be entirely in the school hallways or a classroom setting, which would’ve made filming easier.

What I Learned

I learned that it’s important to look ahead to scheduling complications, as Charlie and Nathan, half the team, were gone for IB testing. I also now know the importance of having enough time to upload so that we don’t lose footage, but it’s not usually my job to upload. Even though not everything I wanted was included, the end product was still something that I could be proud of.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *